Multiple Los Angeles & Orange County DUI Offenses Lawyer
With each DUI/DWI conviction, you face increased penalties, including larger fines, longer jail sentences and increased license suspension periods. Even if it is your first DUI/DWI, there are enhanced penalties if you are arrested with a high blood alcohol content (BAC) or with a child in the vehicle. If you have been arrested for drunk driving, you need a skilled and knowledgeable defense attorney to help you fight these charges.
Siskiyou County Second Offense DUI Attorney
With more than 16 years of experience as a Southern California DUI attorney, Mr. Reynoso aggressively defends clients from DUI charges at every level. Whether it is your first offense or you are facing felony charges for your fourth offense, contact our office online for a free initial consultation.
Penalties for Multiple DUI Offenses in California
Each conviction for DUI within a 10-year period carries increased penalties:
Suspended license: You will lose your license for two years on your second conviction for a DUI, and three years for your third conviction. However, it may be possible to get a restricted license after one year if you follow certain steps, which include showing proof of insurance and enrolling in a DUI class.
Fines: The current base fine for a second DUI is $2530. This does not include a host of other fees and costs which will add several hundred dollars to your total fine. Additionally, the fees are being increased several times per year by the state legislature. With each subsequent conviction, the court will impose higher fines and longer jail sentences.
DUI class: With each subsequent conviction, you will be placed in DUI school for 18 months.
Jail time: On a second DUI conviction, there is a mandatory minimum 10 day jail sentence, and 120 days mandatory minimum for a third DUI conviction. These are the minimum sentences, and you could face additional jail time if found guilty.
If you have three prior DUI convictions within a period of 10 years (this includes any out of state convictions), the fourth will likely be charged as a felony In addition to increased fines and other penalties, a felony conviction will result in a minimum of 16 months in state prison unless you are granted probation. In this county, a state prison commitment is becoming more and more frequent absent aggressive representation.
Increased Penalties for First-Time Offenders
Even if it is your first drunk driving arrest, you could face increased penalties if:
Your BAC is .15 percent or higher
There was a child in the vehicle with you under the age of 14
You refused the Breathalyzer
You caused an accident
There were injuries
Attorney Reynoso will thoroughly investigate the circumstances that led to your arrest, protect your interests in court and represent you at DMV hearings to contest a revoked license. Throughout the process, he will work to reduce the penalties you face or have the charges against you dismissed.
Serving Clients in all Orange County and Las Angeles cities. If you are seeking legal representation or would like more information about our DUI defense services, contact a lawyer at our office today to set up your free initial consultation. You can reach Edgar Reynoso, Attorney at Law, toll free at 877-DUI- PROS or by contacting us online.